Prayer an Integral Part of Discipleship

ImageAs you begin to work with someone, to encourage them in their walk with the Lord, and share some of your knowledge, do not forget to include them in your prayers.  Prayer is an integral part of discipleship. It is a wonderful and powerful tool God gave us to help others.  There are many examples in Scripture of our forefathers praying for others. One such example is Abraham praying for Abimelech.  Abraham had told Abimelech that Sarah was his sister.  God was not happy when Abimelech had Sarah brought into his house.  God protected Sarah and Abimelech from anything negative that could have happened in Abimelech’s ignorance of who Sarah really was.  God instructed Abimelech in a dream to restore Sarah to her rightful and holy space of Abraham’s wife.  He then told Abimelech that Abraham would pray for him.

After Abimelech restored Sarah, Abraham did indeed pray for him and the plague of barrenness was lifted from his household as a result.  Through this event, God was able to show Abimelech his power, restore Sarah to her holy space, and remove Abraham’s fear of being killed because of man’s desire for his wife.  God then blessed Abraham and Sarah by opening her womb and allowing the birth of Isaac.

When we pray for those we disciple, God can remove blinders from their eyes so that they can see the LIFE in His word.  He can reveal the hidden messages in His word and bring life to them.  Through our prayers, He can mold them into a willing vessel that He can use to bring life to others.

So, I ask you today, have you humbly prayed for those you disciple?  Remember, even while being crucified on the cross, Christ prayed for those who were doing this to them, “Father, forgive them for they know not what they do!”  If He can pray at this time for those doing such horrendous things to Him, how much more can we pray for someone we are encouraging?

Blessings,

Regina

About Pastor Regina

Pastor Regina Sanders is a wife, mother, pastor, author, and teacher of Scripture. In January 2016 the Lord blessed her with an international satellite radio broadcast, allowing her to be heard beyond the borders of the United States. She was heard in places such as Hong Kong, Germany, and Canada. This broadcast lasted only about 4 ½ months as she was diagnosed with Stage 3 Colon Cancer in May of 2016. Pastor Regina smiles and says, “God has a sense of humor. I was teaching a group about coming out of their shell of introversion. I was writing another book on this topic, and I had this radio broadcast, as well as, my weekly YouTube uploads, and I found myself in the hospital for 11 days. Upon coming home, I found myself either in the bed or on the couch unable to continue with the tasks I had before me. Lord, you healed me of introversion, and I find myself feeling completely isolated…” Today, Pastor Regina shares her journey through the valley of the shadow of death.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Prayer an Integral Part of Discipleship

  1. Jefferson Paul says:

    A tremendous post, Regina! In fact, I did forget to ask a blessing on one person with whom I have been studying. She is having a troubled time right now with depression and a complete lack of family support.

    Thank you for reminding us all that prayer is a huge part of being a Christ follower!

    Jefferson Paul

    • Regina says:

      Awe, thank you Jefferson! I appreciate your comment and following me. It is easy for us to forget to pray for those we are working with, but in my opinion, prayer is one of the best means of encouragement we have to offer them. I recently moved my blog to my own domain. I am still learning about how my followers can continue to see my post. To see the most recent post, please go to http://www.prayercommunicationwithgod.com. I will still be posting some to the WP.com account, but mainly from the new site. Blessings to you, my brother, and thank you again!

      • Jefferson Paul says:

        Absolutely my pleasure. I encourage you in all of your work in His name. Yes, prayer is a most effective and vital tool for the Christian.

        Hey, would it help to post your new “dot.com” website on your WordPress “tag line?” Just a thought…

        Make everyday count!
        Jefferson 🙂

      • Regina says:

        Thank you! I had not thought of that! I will go do that. I downloaded the Jetpack plugin to my .com and connected it to my WP.com…but I have not been able to determine if my followers are getting the post from my .com as before. Thank you for your help.

      • Jefferson Paul says:

        I hope it is of some help, Regina. I’m no “tech savvy” kind of person, but it was just a thought. I’ll be reading you regularly now, so I’ll keep a watch out for new articles on WP.com.

        Make your day count!
        Jefferson 🙂

      • Regina says:

        Thank you! 🙂

      • Jefferson Paul says:

        You’re welcome…:)

      • Regina says:

        I just learned that I can indeed transfer my followers to my .com with the Jetpack plugin, but I have to have them do it for me. I have submitted the request to them. Hopefully, prayerfully, this will be done very soon! Blessings!

      • Jefferson Paul says:

        How about that! Super! Good to know if we want to buy a domain for ourselves…

        Jefferson

Leave a Reply

