The Desire for God

UnityGenesis 46: 1 – 4 So Israel set out with all that he had, and came to Beersheba, and offered sacrifices to the God of his father Isaac.  God spoke to Israel in visions of the night and said, “Jacob, Jacob.”  And he said, “Here I am.”  He said, “I am God, the God of your father; do not be afraid to go down to Egypt, for I will make you a great nation there.  I will go down with you to Egypt, and I will also surely bring you up again; and Joseph will close your eyes.”

What is Unity? What Does It Mean to be Unified?

When Jacob went down to Egypt with his family, the text reads, “Seventy soul went down to Egypt.”  Would it not be grammatically correct to state, “Seventy souls”?  The reason for this is to show us that Jacob’s family was unified – they were one.  They were united to the extent that it was as if they were but one soul.  They shared the same beliefs and goals.

Now let’s take a look at the text where it describes the travels of Esau’s family.  When Esau’s family went to Seir, although, his family consisted of just six people at that time, the text reads “souls of his household.”  They worshiped many gods; they did not share the same beliefs or goals, and therefore are described in the plural.

So what can we take from all of this?  When we see others who seem so different from us, we may have a hard time identifying with them or even recognizing that we are like “brothers and sisters.”  But by focusing on the fact that we share the same beliefs and traditions, and that we all come from Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob, we can remember that we are one.  We are united until the end of time because we in one and the same God.

  • What kind of people do you have a hard time identifying with?
  • After reading the message above, do you feel it helps to connect to those people? ~ Chabad

The Desire

Desire for God

What is the best and most glorious thing that a man needs every day and can do every day?  Nothing less than to seek, to know, to love, and to praise God Himself.  As glorious as God is, so is the glory which begins to work in the hearts and lives of people who give themselves to live for God.

Have you learned to seek this God, to meet Him, to worship Him, to live for Him and for His glory?  It is a great step forward in the life of a Christian when we truly see this and consider fellowship with God every day as the chief end of our lives.

Take the time to ask yourself whether knowing your God and loving Him with your whole heart is the utmost desire of your heart.  You can be certain that God greatly desires that you should live in this intimate fellowship with Him.  He will, in answer to your prayer, enable you to do so.

Begin today by speaking these words to God in the stillness of your soul: “O God, you are my God; I earnestly search for you.  My soul thirsts for you; my whole body longs for you…I follow close behind you” (Psalm 63:1, 8).  “[I] search for him with all [my] heart” (Psalm 119:2).

Blessings,

Regina

Father, God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob,  thank you for showing us through Jacob and his family, unity.  Thank you for allowing us to see, that just as Jacob’s family was united when they went into Egypt, that we should be united with our brothers and sisters.  I pray that your spirit of unity moves into our churches, synagogues, and Bible studies.  May we become united so that we can operate as the body of Christ…his resurrected body.  I desire to know You more deeply each day.  May You incline Your heart unto me as I eagerly anticipate Your presence today.  In Jesus name. Amen.

 

About Pastor Regina

Pastor Regina Sanders is a wife, mother, pastor, author, and teacher of Scripture. In January 2016 the Lord blessed her with an international satellite radio broadcast, allowing her to be heard beyond the borders of the United States. She was heard in places such as Hong Kong, Germany, and Canada. This broadcast lasted only about 4 ½ months as she was diagnosed with Stage 3 Colon Cancer in May of 2016. Pastor Regina smiles and says, “God has a sense of humor. I was teaching a group about coming out of their shell of introversion. I was writing another book on this topic, and I had this radio broadcast, as well as, my weekly YouTube uploads, and I found myself in the hospital for 11 days. Upon coming home, I found myself either in the bed or on the couch unable to continue with the tasks I had before me. Lord, you healed me of introversion, and I find myself feeling completely isolated…” Today, Pastor Regina shares her journey through the valley of the shadow of death.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Desire for God

  1. Thank you for your thoughts on this and your prayer. Peace and Blessings to you and your family.

  2. Pingback: iSee: To God, my father | the Educationally Frustrated student

Leave a Reply

