Love Thu Neighbor as YOURSELF

the_power_of_love-LRG

The word “LOVE” occurs in Scripture 310 times in 280 verses.  One of the greatest commandments we have is to, “Love your neighbor as yourself.”  How can one do that?  I am in contact with many people through social media, church, life in general…one thing I see greatly is that we do not love ourselves.  If we, as an individual, cannot love ourselves, how can we love others?  What does it look like to love yourself?

I see relationships, friendships, and families failing all around me. It’s sad, and while I do not claim to know all or understand all; I truly believe that at least part of the problems in the relationships stem from a lack of self-love.

[Lev 19:18 KJV] 18 Thou shalt not avenge, nor bear any grudge against the children of thy people, but thou shalt love thy neighbor as thyself: I [am] the LORD.

When one does not love him/herself, it creates a barrier that blocks them from being able to freely receive love or show love to others.  How can one learn to love themselves?

  1. The first place to start with loving yourself is seeking God’s face.  Learn about His love for you.
  2. Practice loving yourself.  Look in the mirror each morning, call yourself by name and say, “I love you!  You are worthy to be loved!”
  3. Write why you are worthy to be loved.  How do you do this if you feel unworthy?  Realize that God loves you!  That can be your first reason, “God loves me and He makes no mistakes!”
  4. After you make your list of reasons for why you are worthy to be loved, make reminder cards.  Get index cards and write just one word on that card that reminds you of why you are worthy to be loved, such as: God, grace, mercy,compassion…any quality you see in yourself that you feel makes you lovable.
  5. Envision what it feels like to love yourself.  What would it look like to truly love yourself? Picture it! Experience it in this vision!

[Gal 5:22 KJV] 22 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith,

I encourage every reader to evaluate yourself.  Do you truly love yourself?  Remember, if you do not love yourself first, you cannot fully love others as God has commanded us to do.

Father, I lift up each person that may read this blog post.  I ask you to show each of us, me included, where we do not see ourselves as being worthy of love.  Help us to see ourselves worthy of not only your love, but our love and the love of others.  Please guide our steps in making the changes we need to make to be able to love ourselves so that we can obey your commandment to love others as ourselves.  May your love be ever present in us and may it shine brightly to everyone we encounter.  In Jesus name.  Amen.

Blessings,

Regina

About Pastor Regina

Pastor Regina Sanders is a wife, mother, pastor, author, and teacher of Scripture. In January 2016 the Lord blessed her with an international satellite radio broadcast, allowing her to be heard beyond the borders of the United States. She was heard in places such as Hong Kong, Germany, and Canada. This broadcast lasted only about 4 ½ months as she was diagnosed with Stage 3 Colon Cancer in May of 2016. Pastor Regina smiles and says, “God has a sense of humor. I was teaching a group about coming out of their shell of introversion. I was writing another book on this topic, and I had this radio broadcast, as well as, my weekly YouTube uploads, and I found myself in the hospital for 11 days. Upon coming home, I found myself either in the bed or on the couch unable to continue with the tasks I had before me. Lord, you healed me of introversion, and I find myself feeling completely isolated…” Today, Pastor Regina shares her journey through the valley of the shadow of death.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Love Thu Neighbor as YOURSELF

  1. Pingback: Nothing Separates Us from Jesus | Prayer: Communication with God

Leave a Reply

