Psalm 28 : A Prayer for Help, and Praise for Its Answer

Psalm 28-7

[Psa 28:1-9 KJV] 1 [[[A Psalm] of David.]] Unto thee will I cry, O LORD my rock; be not silent to me: lest, [if] thou be silent to me, I become like them that go down into the pit. 2 Hear the voice of my supplications, when I cry unto thee, when I lift up my hands toward thy holy oracle.3 Draw me not away with the wicked, and with the workers of iniquity, which speak peace to their neighbours, but mischief [is] in their hearts. 4 Give them according to their deeds, and according to the wickedness of their endeavours: give them after the work of their hands; render to them their desert. 5 Because they regard not the works of the LORD, nor the operation of his hands, he shall destroy them, and not build them up. 6 Blessed [be] the LORD, because he hath heard the voice of my supplications. 7 The LORD [is] my strength and my shield; my heart trusted in him, and I am helped: therefore my heart greatly rejoiceth; and with my song will I praise him. 8 The LORD [is] their strength, and he [is] the saving strength of his anointed. 9 Save thy people, and bless thine inheritance: feed them also, and lift them up for ever.

I did not make a post yesterday as I had planned, and the post today is not what I had planned for yesterday.  Instead, I want to share with you all why I did not post yesterday and share the Praises to God for the answered prayers.  I awoke yesterday to my daughter running into my room yelling, “Mom, grandpa called. He needs you to come down.  Something is wrong with grandma and he doesn’t know what to do!”  Thankfully, I live next door to my parents and we have a little path that we walk to each other’s homes.  

My mother has Type 1 Diabetes.  Her body does not produce any insulin on  its own, so she has to give herself insulin injections.  Usually Type 1 diabetes is seen in children, my mom was in her forties when she was diagnosed with it.

I sprang from bed, threw on some shoes and run down to my parents home.  My dad yelled from the bedroom that they were in there.  When I entered the bedroom he told me that he didn’t know if her sugar levels were too high, too low, or what was going on with her.  Once I looked at her I knew immediately that her blood sugar levels had dropped. I just didn’t know how low.  I told him to try to get her to drink some coke while I gathered the necessary tools to check her blood sugar levels.  He tried, but she would not swallow the drink.  She simply looked around with a blank stare,  It almost seemed as if her body was an empty vessel and her soul was no longer present, but she had a pulse.  When I checked her blood sugar level it was at 35, extremely too low.  I tried a few other things to get it to start coming back up, but it was futile.

Her muscle tone changed, it basically became as jello. She could no longer hold herself up and she started trying to close her eyes.  I just knew that if I allowed her to go to sleep she would slip into a coma and we might not get her back.  I called 911 and we fought hard to keep her awake until the paramedics arrived.  I prayed, “Lord, please help us keep her conscious.  Please keep her with us. I am not ready to lose my mother.  Show me what to do to help her and please bring her back to me.”  After I prayed, I simply worked with her trying to keep her awake. I didn’t continue to beg God or anything like that. I didn’t have time.  I had to focus on her and keeping her with us as much as possible.  It felt like eternity before the ambulance arrived, yet at the same time it felt as if time had sped up and was flying past me.

The paramedics did arrive, put her on stretcher, started an IV, and transported her to the hospital.  The IV helped, and she came back into our world on the ride to the hospital.  She wasn’t very happy that she was going to the hospital and in her pajamas no less.  But, she had no memory of the events that led her to the hospital.

There are a couple of miracles in all of this.  My father works third shift and was asleep.  Mom had gotten up at five in the morning to send my little brother to school.  She took her insulin and ate breakfast.  Once he left for school, she went back to bed.  Her blood sugar bottomed out in her sleep.  They have two little chihuahuas that sleep with them, and who are usually up under my mom.  These little dogs stopped sleeping and began to run from my mom to my dad, running across his chest until they woke him up.  He noticed that mom’s breathing didn’t sound right, so he turned on the light and got her up.  She was cold and clammy, while sweating profusely.  He knew something was terribly wrong.  This is the first miracle.  Had these two little dogs not woke my dad up, my mom probably would not have awaken.  She would have slipped into a coma and quite possibly died.  The second miracle, is God allowed us to keep her conscious, awake, and did not allow her fall to sleep.  The third miracle, is that this did not leave any negative lasting effects on her.  Once her blood sugar returned to a normal level, she was herself again.

Maybe when she seemed so far away from us she was in the presence of God and He was revealing things to her spirit. I do not know, she does not remember.  All I know with any certainty is that God heard my cry for help.  He remembered me.  He answered my plea for help, and He brought my mom back to us!  I praise Him for His kind, loving, gracious, mercies poured upon us yesterday.  I thank Him that He orchestrated everything so each of us would be where we needed to be to work with her when this happened.  Had it happened a week earlier we were out of state and dad would have been home alone with her.  Had it happened last year, my husband and I were over the road and were probably out west around Texas.

So, as frightening as everything was, God orchestrated it all.  He was in control. He blessed us. He worked miracles for us.  So, this is what I want to tell you.  There is power in prayer.  The Spirit of God lives in us.  He prays for us when we do not know what to pray.  We do not have to live in devastation.  That doesn’t mean devastating things do not happen around us, it means we can continue to have JOY present in our lives.  It means no matter how dark it looks, God is present, we need to look for His blessings.  It means, we can change the world with our prayers!  So I urge you today, pray for yourself, pray for your family, your church or congregation, pray for your community, your state, your nation, Israel, and other countries.  By standing in the gap, we can move mountains.  We can do as Moses and change God’s mind by asking him to spare judgment and rain mercy.

Let’s not wait on the next catastrophe to happen to join together in prayer for our nation, let’s do it now!   

2 Chronicles 7 - 14

Let us now stand on 2 Chronicles 7:14.  Let us humble ourselves and pray.  Let us seek the Face of God, turn from our wicked ways so that He will hear us in heaven, forgive us our sins, and heal our land!  Let’s not wait on the judgment of God to fall upon us, instead, change His mind and allow His mercies to fall like rain.

Blessings,

Regina

About Pastor Regina

Pastor Regina Sanders is a wife, mother, pastor, author, and teacher of Scripture. In January 2016 the Lord blessed her with an international satellite radio broadcast, allowing her to be heard beyond the borders of the United States. She was heard in places such as Hong Kong, Germany, and Canada. This broadcast lasted only about 4 ½ months as she was diagnosed with Stage 3 Colon Cancer in May of 2016. Pastor Regina smiles and says, “God has a sense of humor. I was teaching a group about coming out of their shell of introversion. I was writing another book on this topic, and I had this radio broadcast, as well as, my weekly YouTube uploads, and I found myself in the hospital for 11 days. Upon coming home, I found myself either in the bed or on the couch unable to continue with the tasks I had before me. Lord, you healed me of introversion, and I find myself feeling completely isolated…” Today, Pastor Regina shares her journey through the valley of the shadow of death.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

