Answers to Your Prayer, But not the Answer You Were Looking For



Genesis 17: 18-22

18.  And Abraham said to God, “Oh that Ishmael might live before You!” 19. But God said, “No, but Sarah your wife will bear you a son, and you shall call his name Isaac; and I will establish My covenant with him for an everlasting covenant for his descendants after him. 20.As for Ishmael, I have heard you; behold, I will bless him, and will make him fruitful and will multiply him exceedingly. He shall become the father of twelve princes, and I will make him a great nation. 21. But My covenant I will establish with Isaac, whom Sarah will bear to you at this season next year.” 22. When He finished talking with him, God went up from Abraham.

 

God Answers Abraham

Abraham prayed for his son Ishmael. It was his heart’s desire that Ishmael may live before the Lord; but the answer he received wasn’t exactly what he was looking for. It was God’s plan to establish his covenant with Isaac, who wasn’t even born yet. However, He did not forget Ishmael. God allowed Abraham to know that He had heard his prayer, and He remembered him by blessing Ishmael. God promised Abraham that he would:
1. Bless Ishmael
2. Make Ishmael fruitful
3. Multiply him exceedingly.

 

God Answers Prayer

God answers our prayers even if the answer isn’t the one we were looking for. Except His answer because He knows his plans for us. He tells us in Jeremiah that He knew us even before conception. The above verses let us know that God does hear our prayers and He loves us. We need to recognize that He is answering us even when the answer isn’t what we had hoped for. We need to TRUST HIM even when the answer isn’t what we hoped for, because Scripture tells us that we can’t always tell the difference in a blessing and a curse. He just may be protecting us from something that we know nothing about.

It is my prayer for you all, that God’s will be done in each life that reads this blog. I pray that He will impart His wisdom and knowledge to you and that He will protect you from unseen harm. May this blog always be a source of encouragement and light in a world of darkness. Amen.

Blessings,

Regina

About Pastor Regina

Pastor Regina Sanders is a wife, mother, pastor, author, and teacher of Scripture. In January 2016 the Lord blessed her with an international satellite radio broadcast, allowing her to be heard beyond the borders of the United States. She was heard in places such as Hong Kong, Germany, and Canada. This broadcast lasted only about 4 ½ months as she was diagnosed with Stage 3 Colon Cancer in May of 2016. Pastor Regina smiles and says, “God has a sense of humor. I was teaching a group about coming out of their shell of introversion. I was writing another book on this topic, and I had this radio broadcast, as well as, my weekly YouTube uploads, and I found myself in the hospital for 11 days. Upon coming home, I found myself either in the bed or on the couch unable to continue with the tasks I had before me. Lord, you healed me of introversion, and I find myself feeling completely isolated…” Today, Pastor Regina shares her journey through the valley of the shadow of death.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Answers to Your Prayer, But not the Answer You Were Looking For

  1. Pingback: A reminder to myself: Wait on the lord. His timing is best. | The Word Against The World

  2. Pingback: God’s Word and Prayer | Prayer: Communication with God

  3. Pingback: Prayer and God’s Word | Prayer: Communication with God

  4. Pingback: The Will of God | Prayer: Communication with God

Leave a Reply

