Abram’s Prayer for a Son

Image

The above poem is a cute way to share with children that Abram (later called Abraham) prayed for a son; however, in this post today, we are going to look closely at his prayer.  We find Abram’s prayer for a son in Genesis 15: 2-6.

[Gen 15:2-6 KJV] 2 And Abram said, Lord GOD, what wilt thou give me, seeing I go childless, and the steward of my house [is] this Eliezer of Damascus?

3 And Abram said, Behold, to me thou hast given no seed: and, lo, one born in my house is mine heir.

4 And, behold, the word of the LORD [came] unto him, saying, This shall not be thine heir; but he that shall come forth out of thine own bowels shall be thine heir.

5 And he brought him forth abroad, and said, Look now toward heaven, and tell the stars, if thou be able to number them: and he said unto him, So shall thy seed be.

6 And he believed in the LORD; and he counted it to him for righteousness.

So, here we see Abram saying, “Lord GOD, I don’t have any children.  There is no one to carry on my name, I don’t have an heir to bless?  What else could you give me that could compare to a child?” – (paraphrased by me).  If anyone reading this has had a hard time conceiving, carrying a pregnancy, or lost a child, then you can relate to Abram’s plea.  You know how heart-felt and soul wrenching this prayer is.  This is one that comes from the depth of his soul.

And God answered him.  He told him to “come here, Look NOW (not later) toward heaven, and tell the stars, if thou be able to number them: and he said unto him, So shall thy seed be.”  In other words, he isn’t just promising him a son, but a line of descendants which, like the stars, are too numerous to count.

“And he BELIEVED the Lord…”  Abram trusted God to fulfill his promise to him.  He knew what God said was truth and he would have an heir and descendants.

Do we ever ask God for something, good health, financial blessings, growth, etc., but ask with doubt?  If there is anything we have learned this week, it is to fully trust God to hear us and answer.  In Hannah’s Prayer, she was weeping and not eating BEFORE she prayed; but after her prayer her countenance was no longer sad and she ate (showing her trust in God).  Both Abram and Hannah were specific in what they were requesting from God.  They prayed from the depths of their soul, not half-hearted.

[Psa 37:4-5 KJV] 4 Delight thyself also in the LORD; and he shall give thee the desires of thine heart. 5 Commit thy way unto the LORD; trust also in him; and he shall bring [it] to pass.

Abram and Hannah walked with the Lord, committed to His way, and trusted Him; and He answered their prayers.  I urge you, as I close this post, no matter what your needs are, God is faithful to answer. Cast your needs upon Him, TRUST him, and He will answer you!

Blessings,

Regina

About Pastor Regina

Pastor Regina Sanders is a wife, mother, pastor, author, and teacher of Scripture. In January 2016 the Lord blessed her with an international satellite radio broadcast, allowing her to be heard beyond the borders of the United States. She was heard in places such as Hong Kong, Germany, and Canada. This broadcast lasted only about 4 ½ months as she was diagnosed with Stage 3 Colon Cancer in May of 2016. Pastor Regina smiles and says, “God has a sense of humor. I was teaching a group about coming out of their shell of introversion. I was writing another book on this topic, and I had this radio broadcast, as well as, my weekly YouTube uploads, and I found myself in the hospital for 11 days. Upon coming home, I found myself either in the bed or on the couch unable to continue with the tasks I had before me. Lord, you healed me of introversion, and I find myself feeling completely isolated…” Today, Pastor Regina shares her journey through the valley of the shadow of death.
This entry was posted in Prayer, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Abram’s Prayer for a Son

  1. Pingback: Are you a Hagar or an Eliezer? | Endtime Chaverim

Leave a Reply

