The Format of Prayer

Blessed art thou, Lord our God, King of the universe, who provides for me all of my needs.

Bless the LORD, O my soul: and all that is within me, bless His holy name.

Image

Prayer: 1. a. An address (as a petition) to God or a god in word or thought

b. an earnest request or wish

2. the act or practice of praying to God or a god

(www.meriam-webster.com/dictionary/prayer)

“The Torah refers to prayer as ‘service of the heart,’ an act suffused with love and reverence.”  – (www.chabad.org)

Prayer can be seen, viewed, or perceived as “our primary means of connecting our consciousness to the divine.” (www.chabad.org)  Prayer connects us with our creator; our LIFE force!

Did you know that history shows us a time when our prayers were formatted?  What is that format and is it important today?  The format is as follows:

  1. Praise for God
  2. Asking Him for all of one’s needs
  3. Expressing gratitude for all He has done for us.

It is my opinion that this format is still important today. Why? Jesus taught us this very format in Matthew 6:9-15 when He taught His followers The Lord’s Prayer.  Let’s see how it all comes together in this format:

  1. Praise for God

Our Father, who art in heaven,

hallowed be thy name,

Thy kingdom come,

          Thy will be done

on earth as it is in heaven.

2. Asking Him for ALL of one’s needs

Give us this day our daily bread.

Forgive us our trespasses,

As we forgive those who trespass against us.

Lead us not into temptation,

but deliver us from evil.

3. Gratitude

For thine is the kingdom,

the power and glory

forever and ever. Amen

God is worthy of our praise. He is our creator and each day that we awake here on earth is because He has breathed a breath of life into us.  Creation did not stop on the seventh day, but is daily renewed.  Our sleep can be viewed as a temporary death and each morning a practice resurrection.

It is out of his loving kindness, grace, and mercy that He meets all of our needs.  In layman’s terms: God loves us and He wants our needs to be met. He not only meets our needs but gives us the desires of our hearts…and the right desires in our hearts.

Man was created in God’s image; His likeness. This isn’t just His appearance.  Our human nature also longs for praise. We are created with compassion for others and help them when we can.

We also have a need for gratitude. We long to know that we and our actions are appreciated, that we aren’t doing things in vain.  Why would we want to offer God any less than what we, ourselves, long to have?

In my “busy”ness of life, sometimes I rush through my prayers, forgetting the format, the wonderful example that Jesus provided.  I realize I have many times thoughtlessly robbed God of the praises He desires and more than deserves; or I get things out of order. I place my requests ahead of His praise.  It is my desire and goal to put my prayer life back in order! To follow the directions Jesus gave me and stick with the format provided.

Prayer is our communication with God.  Following the format can only strengthen our relationship with Him.  It will also give us practice in keeping the rest of our lives in order.  God isn’t a God of chaos.  If we will follow the formats He has laid before us then, I believe, we will see things more clearly; we will see our health restored, our land blessed.

Thank you for taking your time to read these thoughts.  May you ever be blessed by what you read here.

Regina

 

About Pastor Regina

Pastor Regina Sanders is a wife, mother, pastor, author, and teacher of Scripture. In January 2016 the Lord blessed her with an international satellite radio broadcast, allowing her to be heard beyond the borders of the United States. She was heard in places such as Hong Kong, Germany, and Canada. This broadcast lasted only about 4 ½ months as she was diagnosed with Stage 3 Colon Cancer in May of 2016. Pastor Regina smiles and says, “God has a sense of humor. I was teaching a group about coming out of their shell of introversion. I was writing another book on this topic, and I had this radio broadcast, as well as, my weekly YouTube uploads, and I found myself in the hospital for 11 days. Upon coming home, I found myself either in the bed or on the couch unable to continue with the tasks I had before me. Lord, you healed me of introversion, and I find myself feeling completely isolated…” Today, Pastor Regina shares her journey through the valley of the shadow of death.
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

